missouri.drivinguniversity.com Traffic School
Simple | Defensive Driving & Traffic School Online



Driver Points

In addition to the fines and fees you will pay, you will also be assessed points on your Missouri Driving Record.  While 1 or 2 points alone won’t cause too much serious detriment, the accumulation of points can result in higher insurance premiums or license suspension/revocation.  A Missouri speeding ticket issued in violation of Missouri State Law is a 3 point violation, and a Missouri speeding ticket issued in violation of a County or Municipal Ordinance is a 2 point violation.  


If you accumulate 4 points on your Missouri Driving Record in 12 months, you will receive a warning letter.  The accumulation of 8 points in 18 months will result in suspension of your license for:

  • 30 days for the first offense
  • 60 days for the second offense
  • 90 days for the third offense

 

You license will be revoked if you accumulate 12 or more points in 12 months, 18 or more points in 24 months, or 24 or more points in 36 months.  In order to have your license reinstated after your period of revocation or suspension, you may have to file an SR-22 with your insurance company, you will have to pay all reinstatement fees, and you will have to retake both the written and driving portions of the Missouri Driving Test.


Once your driving privileges are reinstated, the Department of Revenue reduces your Missouri Driving Record points to 4.  Your points will also be reduced for every year that you drive violation-free:

  • 1 year – total remaining points by one-third
  • 2 years – remaining points reduced by one-half
  • 3 years – reduced to zero

 

Your Missouri Driving Record should be well-guarded and you should practice safe-driving techniques that keep your driving record point-free.  Doing so will protect you from suspension, revocation and increased insurance rates.

Driving University Online Course