missouri.drivinguniversity.com Traffic School
Simple | Defensive Driving & Traffic School Online



Missouri DWI & Missouri DUI Information

The titles ‘Attorney’ and ‘Lawyer’ are used synonymously and interchangeably.  It is important to note that no distinction was made between ‘Attorney’ and ‘Lawyer’ in this content and either a Missouri DWI Attorney or Missouri DWI Lawyer can handle your DWI case effectively.


Missouri DWI Attorneys are easily accessible and there are many to choose from.  The first and most important step you should take before hiring any Attorney is to do your research:

  • How long has this Attorney been in practice?
  • Does this Attorney specialize in Missouri DWI cases?
  • What is their success record in DWI cases?
  • Have complaints been filed against this Attorney?
  • What will this Attorney charge to handle your case?

 

These are all very important questions to ask before hiring a Missouri DWI Attorney.  While your Attorney will handle the case, however, it is important that you also educate yourself on Missouri DWI law.  This will help you to make informed decisions with your Attorney as your case proceeds.

 

Alcohol and Driving 

Your brain and central nervous system are directly affected by consumption of alcohol.  The affects will be varied and the intensity of your impairment will depend on the amount of alcohol you have consumed and which part of the brain/central nervous system has been affected. Read more...

 

Drugs and Driving 

A Missouri DUID (Driving Under the Influence of Drugs) is an offense as serious as a Missouri DWI and carries the same Criminal and Administrative penalties. Read more...

 

Differences between DUI and DWI 

In Missouri, a difference is not recognized.  The terms are used interchangeably, but the proper term that has been accepted in Missouri is DWI.  The only difference recognized is a conviction for excessive BAC. In Missouri, a person is guilty of a DWI if "he operates a motor vehicle while in an intoxicated or drugged condition.”  Read more...

 

DUI/DWI Basics 

Missouri refers to both ‘driving under the influence’ and ‘driving while intoxicated’ as a DWI only and does not recognize DUI. A Missouri DWI is issued when an adult driver is operating a motor vehicle with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of .08 or when a driver under 21 years of age is operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .020. Read more...

 

DWI Attorney Directory 

Need the services of a DWI Attorney? Find one in your area. Read more...

 

DWI Attorneys 

Because a Missouri DWI Attorney specializes in DWI cases, he or she will know the proper steps to take and the proper pleas to make at a hearing.  For this reason, you should contact an Attorney right away. Read more...

 

DWI Costs 

In fines and reinstatement fees alone, a Missouri DWI conviction may cost you in excess of $5,000.  You must also take into consideration that you may lose your income if you are fired from your job and that your insurance premiums will skyrocket once you file an SR-22. Read more...

 

DWI Laws 

Missouri ‘driving under the influence’ and ‘driving while intoxicated’ are not considered separate charges; both are referred to as a Missouri DWI.  There is also a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) violation that carries points and suspensions. Read more...

 

DWI Penalties 

You may suffer in every aspect of your life if you are convicted of a DWI offense in Missouri.  You will incur Criminal and Administrative penalties, and these penalties may affect you personally, professionally and socially. Read more...

 

DWI Statistics 

Reports show that the incidence of DWI’s had decreased in 2007.  This is based on the most recent and accurate reports posted by the Missouri State Highway Patrol for alcohol related traffic injuries and fatalities in 2006. Read more...

 

Implied Consent 

According to the Missouri DOR Driver’s Licensing Division, Implied Consent means that “under this law, a driver (by driving), automatically agrees to take a test to measure blood alcohol concentration when stopped (under 21 years old), under arrest (age 21 and over), and suspected of driving under the influence.” Read more...

 

Reduce Missouri DWI Charges and Fines 

Missouri orders all drivers convicted of a DWI to enroll in SATOP, the Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program, before their license will be reinstated.  Depending on your BAC at the time of your arrest, you may also be ordered into an intensive program, also. Read more...

 

Sobriety Tests 

Law enforcement offers have the right, at the time they pull you over, to request that you submit to Field Sobriety Tests such as ‘touch your finger to your nose’ and ‘walk in a straight line, heel to toe.’ Read more...

Driving University Online Course