Driver’s Education, sometimes referred to as Driving School, is a
series of classes taught by certified Driver’s Education instructors
and is meant to prepare teens and new drivers for the Missouri written
and behind-the-wheel driving tests. While Driver’s Education is
not mandatory in Missouri, it is highly recommended for teen
drivers. The content of a Driver’s Education course is specific
to Missouri traffic laws and regulations and will teen drivers to
prepare for their new responsibilities as a driver.
Who Is Required To Complete It?
Missouri does not require that teenagers or new drivers enroll in a
Driver’s Education course as a prerequisite for obtaining their
driver’s license. However, qualified persons who are accompanying
student drivers in their behind-the-wheel training should exercise
their best judgment and recommend a Driver’s Education course as an
added safety measure. Driver’s Education courses will reinforce
the driving skills that these students need in order to safely operate
a motor vehicle. Furthermore, it is likely that insurance
companies will reward a teen driver for their efforts in the form of
reduced premiums and insurance discounts.
What Agency Regulates It?
Driver’s Education courses are regulated by the Missouri Safety
Center and are taught at the University of Central Missouri. The
Missouri Safety Center, in collaboration with the Commission on Higher
Education, has developed the guidelines for Driver’s Education and
Driver’s Safety related courses. Instructors are certified by the
Department of Education to teach Driver’s Education courses.
Who Teaches Driver’s Education and What Are Their
Missouri Driver’s Education Courses are taught by certified teachers
who have met the requirements set-forth by the Department of Education
and the University of Central Missouri. These requirements
• Attendance at online or onsite courses
• 4 courses in total at 3 hours each, for a total of
12 hours of instruction
• 30 mandatory onsite hours for 2 of the courses
Driver’s Education instructors must already be certified teachers in
the State of Missouri in order to enroll in the Driver’s Education
Instructor courses at the University of Central Missouri.
Missouri Driving Instructors must hold a valid Missouri Driver’s