missouri.drivinguniversity.com Traffic School
Simple | Defensive Driving & Traffic School Online



Risks of Not Having Auto Insurance

Missouri auto insurance coverage is not optional!  You must maintain at least the minimum auto insurance requirements as defined by the Missouri DOR.  Driving without auto insurance carries both personal and legal implications.  


Personally, you are responsible for all property and personal damage you cause to others with your vehicle. 
Legally, the Missouri DOR will set in motion a series of steps that culminate in the likely suspension of your driving privileges and escalating fines for every time you are cited for driving without insurance.  According to the Missouri DOR, the following steps will be taken when you are found guilty of ‘failing to show proof of insurance:’

  • The court will send the conviction to the Driver License Bureau. The conviction will be entered on the driver’s driving record and four points will be assessed.
  • The court may enter an order of supervision. This order is sent to the Driver License Bureau so that the driver can be monitored to ensure automobile liability insurance is being maintained
  • The court may enter an order suspending the driver’s driver license for failing to show proof of insurance. This order is sent to the Driver License Bureau at which time the driver is notified of the suspension of his or her driver license 


Furthermore, reinstatement fees will be assessed and are determined by the degree and frequency of ‘Failing to Show Proof of Insurance’ or ‘Failure to Maintain Insurance.’  The Missouri DOR provides information on the suspensions and fees for reinstatement associated with ‘Failure to Maintain Insurance:’


1st offense

  • 0 days suspension
  • Must show proof of insurance coverage
  • Must pay $20 reinstatement fee

 

2nd suspension in 2 years

  • 90 days suspension
  • Must show proof of insurance coverage
  • Must pay $200 reinstatement fee

 

3rd and subsequent suspension

  • 1 year suspension
  • Must show proof of insurance
  • Must pay $400 reinstatement fee

 

Whenever an accident is involved and you are found guilty of ‘Failure to Maintain Insurance,’ you must file an SR-22 form with your insurance company for proof of insurance.  This is costly insurance coverage and insurance companies will likely be reluctant to provide coverage.  Furthermore, if you are at fault and do not pay for the damages you caused, your driving privileges will be suspended for 1 year unless you pay a $20 reinstatement fee and settle all financial obligations incurred from the accident.


In addition to the individual suspensions and reinstatement fees outlined above, 4 points will be assessed on your Missouri Driving Record for each and every time you are found guilty of ‘Failing to Provide Proof of Insurance.’   The Missouri DOR will send you a warning if you accumulate four or more points in a 12-month period.  Once you have been warned, the following suspensions are also in effect:


Your license will be suspended for 30 days if you accumulate 8 or more points in an 18-month period

  • If this is a 2nd suspension, your license will be suspended for 60 days
  • If this is a 3rd or subsequent suspension, your license will be suspended for 90 days


Your license will be suspended for 1 year if you accumulate 12 or more points in 12 months, 18 or more points in 24 months, or 24 or more points in 36 months

Driving University Online Course