missouri.drivinguniversity.com Traffic School
Simple | Defensive Driving & Traffic School Online



Insurance Requirements

The Missouri DOR requires proof of Missouri auto insurance when registering or renewing the plates for all motor vehicles in Missouri and proof of your auto insurance must be kept in your motor vehicle at all times.  The Missouri minimum auto insurance requirements are as follows:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $10,000 per accident for property
  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury of Uninsured Motorist coverage
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury of Uninsured Motorist coverage


The Missouri DOR is informed when a driver does not have auto insurance and has been involved in a traffic incident or when a driver cannot produce proof of insurance when it is requested by law enforcement officials.  Because of the financial damage and repercussions that can ensue when an uninsured or underinsured driver is involved in a traffic accident, a lack of auto insurance coverage sets in motion a series of steps taken by the Missouri DOR to suspend or revoke your driving privileges.

Driving University Online Course